Heritage Sites & Areas in the Waitematā Local Board Area

I have mapped the Auckland Unitary Plan Historic Heritage A & B sites and Areas and the Heritage New Zealand Category 1 & 2 listed sites in the Waitematā Local Board area.

Council holds a wealth of information about historic and cultural heritage but it isn’t always in a form that is readily accessible. I am very proud of our heritage sites and am dedicated to sharing them with as many people as possible, so I created this map as a way to visualise them. Google Maps is an ideal tool as anyone can load it on their phone or tablet and can take their own walking tour with just their device as their guide.

There are four different hierarchies of historic heritage listed in two different places: in the Auckland Unitary Plan (Historic Heritage A & B-listings) and two created by Heritage New Zealand (formerly the Historic Places Trust, categories 1 & 2). This map puts them all in one place and allows the user to compare and contrast the lists by toggling the ‘layers’ on and off in the map’s legend. More detailed information for each site appears when you tap or click on the marker.

This map is quite crowded so it is useful to turn layers on and off in the legend (top left of the map). If you tap in the top right corner to ‘expand’, the map will open in Google Maps in a separate page.

About Vernon Tava

Barrister. Lives in Auckland, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Heritage, Maps, Waitemata, Waitemata Local Board and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Heritage Sites & Areas in the Waitematā Local Board Area

  1. Pingback: July-October 2017 Local Board Member Report | Vernon Tava

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s